Partner Evaluation Worksheet

Partner Evaluation

Partner Evaluation Worksheet

A few years ago I became aware of the need for group members to evaluate each other. When students work in groups, it’s very easy for one person to do the vast majority of the work while another simply goes along for the ride contributing essentially nothing to the group project.

I find this practice unacceptable and difficult to diagnose properly. So, I created this partner evaluation form to help me weed out the lazy students and give them the grade that they earn. It’s gone through a few versions now and I’m quite proud of it. Use it to your benefit and the benefit of your hard-working students.

Downloads

6 responses to “Partner Evaluation Worksheet

  1. educatorblog

    If I were you, I would have a lesson at the beginning of the year that helps students understand how to work in groups. Develop a teamwork rubric that they can use during the project that has a process that they can follow (brainstorming, electing a team leader, a worksheet for keeping track of deadlines and responsibilities, a group calendar, etc). (educatorblog.wordpress.com)

  2. Good advice. I teach high school students and they are “supposed” to know these things and be able to self-organize but they often don’t. This worksheet is meant for use at the end of a project and in my case, I always alert the students to the fact that it’s coming when we start. They always seem to work more cohesively afterward.

  3. Just wanted to thank you so much for this resource! I’ve altered it to fit my presentation. It’s such a wonderful tool to have teachers helping teachers. Thanks SOOOO much!

  4. This is awesome! Just what I needed, and now I don’t have to start from scratch! Thank you thank you!!! :)

  5. Karen Giacobassi

    THank you for sharing your partner evaluation. I do believe that all students should pull their own weight and this helps keep them on their toes.

  6. This is something that I think creates accountability. Greatly appreciated! I was needing something to bring a little reality to the project aside from a standard grade.

Leave a comment