Lakeland Revival with Todd Bentley

Is it real? Is it fake? Here are some of my thoughts based on my personal and past experiences.

On http://www.charismamag.com/news/archives/042208d.html it says: “Prophetic minister Bob Jones told Bentley he believed the angel’s name was “Winds of Change”–the same angel, Jones said, that visited healing evangelist William Branham in the 1940s.”

I dated a girl in college who followed the teaching of William Marrion Branham and Branham denied the trinity. He emphasized that God was One and not three. Is this enough to make the modern-day followers of William Branham a cult by most Christian standards? I don’t know. I also don’t know anything about this Todd Bentley, but I have heard of Bob Jones and the article says that Jones identified the angel as the same one that Branham claimed.

Scripture says that we should always test the spirits to see if they are from God. Angels are merely messengers from God (both words translated from the Greek are actually one and the same!) and will never seek their own glory like the angel in Revelation when John bends down to worship him. The angels always point to God and give him the credit AND from what I read God is being glorified. Since God is being glorified (at least in word) it seems to contradict that this is not real. I truly don’t know how this fits in because none of the accounts I’ve seen so far are firsthand. They all seem to be at least secondhand. It really matters what Todd and Bob are saying and of course what they really believe.

Now, can God use anyone for His purposes? The answer is yes because we have Cyrus, a pagan, in the book of Daniel. God also used the Assyrians and Babylonians to do his bidding so you can’t flat out deny what’s going on just because these men may not have their beliefs straight because of an association I read in one report. Still, it makes me stand back and question whether this is all real, partly real, or something else.

One other thing, nowhere in the bible does it ever state that there will be this big revival right before Jesus returns that I am aware of. (If anyone knows of any scripture passages that speak of one, please let me know.) In fact, one can infer that a reason God has to come back to Earth in the book of Revelation is because man degenerates to such a low point that all life would cease if He did not return. That doesn’t sound like there’s going to be a revival to me although some people still believe one will take place.

I would like to see this through. I’ll pray tonight about this. I welcome your comments and discussion too. Again, it would be wonderful if it is true and that God is performing a mighty work in our time. However, the dangers of how people will be turned off from, and even hostile toward, Christianity if it is not true when this revival is all over is too high a price to pay to be wrong. I think a pinch of skepticism in this is both wise and valid. Remember the crook televangelists.

BTW, three paragraphs down from the quote above it says: “The boy lay motionless on the platform, and his father bent over him, pressing his forehead to his son’s. “I feel he’s in some kind of vision or something,” Bentley told the crowd. When the boy got up five minutes later he said bright angels had come to him and “put their hands on me.”

Now, every time I hear about angels – and in particular, “angels of light” – I am reminded that Satan is an angel of light and impersonates God. I am not trying to be pessimistic in this. This could truly be a miracle from God. I am merely trying with my limited capacity to “test the spirits”. Please join me in this and put this revival to scrutiny based on your own understanding of God and scripture. God actually commands us to do this! Ask Him to reveal the truth to you. That’s what I’m going to do.

Fresh Fire Ministries is the official web site for Todd Bentley’s ministry.

[Update! I no longer have any doubts about this not being a move of God. I believe this is a massive deception of Satan. Read the comments for more information.]

28 responses to “Lakeland Revival with Todd Bentley

  1. gary justice

    daniel,i share your same concerns

  2. I have not forgotten the mission trip to the NC coast when the couple in the RV asked us for help. A little dose of skepticism can keep a lot of people from a lot of trouble.

    Still, it’s sad. I would like to see a revival come to America – one that couldn’t be explained away. I trust that God knows what He’s currently at work doing.

  3. My family left a church that was affiliated with Morningstar Ministries. I am very saddened by the folks who still worship in this church and are being deceived by the likes of Rick Joyner and people like Todd Bentley. God reveal truth to your people!

  4. I am torn about the Lakeland revival. On the one hand I am cautious to not cast the whole thing off as a fraud but on the other hand I have seen revival movements come and go over the years and it seems that the evangelist often prosper off the people before and after the revivals. I do want a move of God that ushers His people into living for Him in the Spirit (Galatians 5:16-17) and I want to see the Church take the gospel into the world by the power of the Holy Spirit (Acts 1:8; 1 Cor. 2:1-5) but I too want to hold fast to the truth of Scripture (1 Timothy 4:16) and test all things by the Word of God (1 Thess. 5:19-21; 1 John 4:1-2).

  5. Scriptural evidence that the revival in Lakeland is not of God:

    (2Co 11:4). For if he that cometh preacheth another Jesus, whom we have not preached, or if ye receive another spirit, which ye have not received, or another gospel, which ye have not accepted, ye might well bear with him.

    The “Jesus” that Todd Bentley is preaching is not the Jesus of the Bible. His “Jesus” doesn’t preach and emphasize deep repentance, denying self and carrying the cross, selling one’s possesions to give to the poor and needy, forsaking ALL to follow him, and freely bestows his “anointing” on all who have heretical or bad doctrine and loose, immoral lives.

    The “spirit” that Todd Bentley is operating under is causing manifestations that DO NOT APPEAR anywhere in the Bible. He has been known to cause animal manifestations as well (clucking like chickens, barking like dogs, etc.), all of which are manifestations that have long been associated with pagan and heathen religions but are found nowhere in Scripture, except with Nebechanezzar at the judgement of God.

    The “gospel” that Todd preaches is a gospel of seeking after signs and wonders. It’s hocus pocus. Angel feathers, gold dust, diamonds falling, seeing female angels, again, all of which are found nowhere in Scripture. Seeking after miracles and not after the face and heart and burden of God is a deadly delusion that will lead one straight into accepting “another spirit”. There are MANY spirits in the world, which is why we are called both to test the spirits, and to test those who purport to be prophets and teachers by their DOCTRINE. Their doctrine must be solid and sound, and Todd’s is more new age and hype than it is sound Bible doctrine.

    (2Th 2:8-11). And then shall that Wicked be revealed, whom the Lord shall consume with the spirit of his mouth, and shall destroy with the brightness of his coming. Even him, whose coming is after the working of Satan with all power and signs and lying wonders, And with all deceivableness of unrighteousness in them that perish; because they received not the love of the truth, that they might be saved. And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie.

    We need not say that just because there are many geniune miracles, that the whole move must be of God. The Anti-Christ himself will do many signs and wonders. And the mystery of lawlesness (anti-Christ deception) is already at work in the world. Anti-Christ doesn’t neccesary outright oppose Christ, instead, he counterfeits him.

    (2Co 11:13-15). For such are false apostles, deceitful workers, transforming themselves into the apostles of Christ. And no marvel; for Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light. Therefore it is no great thing if his ministers also be transformed as the ministers of righteousness; whose end shall be according to their works.

    Angel encounters are a constant theme in his meetings, and people just soak it all up, not even thinking to seriously question it. But who is to say these angels are truly the angels of the Lord God, and not emissaries of Satan sent to deceive? Todd claims that his healing anointing comes from an angel, but there is no record in all of Scripture of an angel giving somebody an anointing. The Holy Spirit is the only One who anoints God’s ministers. If the anointing is from an angel, it’s a huge red flag.

    (Col 2:18-19). Let no man beguile you of your reward in a voluntary humility and worshiping of angels, intruding into those things which he hath not seen, vainly puffed up by his fleshly mind, And not holding the Head, from which all the body by joints and bands having nourishment ministered, and knit together, increaseth with the increase of God.

    Glean what you will from that Scripture, but do note this, it is a very dangerous thing to speak constantly of angels and to give them the glory for an anointing. I don’t want any part of an anointing from any angel, I only want the HOLY SPIRIT’S anointing, period. Because I don’t know whether it’s an angel of God or an angel of light sent to deceive.

    (Mat 7:22-23). Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

    Note, just because somebody:
    1. Calls Jesus “Lord”
    2. Prophesies
    3. Casts out demons
    4. Does many *wonderful* works (which includes healing people)

    Just because they do all these things DOES NOT mean they are of God! It’s not a few, but MANY, that do these things and do not belong to the true Jesus of the Bible. The Catholic Church still does genuine excorcisms (casting out demons) to this day but they are serious idolaters who preach ‘another gospel’. Signs and wonders is no proof of being genuine or not. The only way we can tell is by:

    1. The doctrine of the teacher (2 John)
    2. The fruit of their life (Mat. 7)
    3. Discerning of the spirit they operate under (1 Cor 12)

    PLEASE PEOPLE RUN FOR YOUR LIFE FROM THIS END-TIME DECEPTION!!! IT IS A DANGEROUS THING TO EMBRACE ANOTHER SPIRIT THAT’S NOT THE HOLY SPIRIT!!!

    In Christ – Josef
    http://www.puregospeltruth.com

  6. I have watched the revival on the web and am now a moderator in one of the chat rooms.

    After 15 days, of participating, TWICE per day, I can tell you that I am now in the Kingdom of God. I wake up in the Glory of Jesus every day since last Thursday. My mind has been cleared of all past traumas including the ancient ones from before the creation (the fall). And much much more.

    I can only tell u what I did. I found out about it two saturdays ago and by the second day, I placed my destiny in God under the mantle of this MOVE OF GOD, and since then, I have reaped all the benefits of this Glory Of Jesus which comes to meet us at each meeting and is also present in cyberspace in the chat room.

    This Glory of JEsus is now IN ME, always. I woke up sunday morning in the Glory.

    Friday, I did more things throughout my day, errands, cleaning, laundry, cooking, TWO meetings for the revival, and at midnight, I said WOW what a day. not tired. enjoyed it all. I have joy, peace of mind.

    this is MY personal testimony to you all.

    This revival is a move of our God.

    I love u all, see u in the chat.

  7. Re: ladynada

    Where to begin? There are a number of doctrinal statements in your comment that have me concerned.

    Regarding your statement about ancient, past traumas it sounds like you now believe in reincarnation which neither the Bible nor Jesus ever taught.

    Plus, your statement about the glory of Jesus being in you has me puzzled. Scripture records that God is a jealous God who will not share His glory with just anyone. In fact, Jesus said that He receives His glory from the Father, so shouldn’t it be called the glory of God? Christians share in other things from God, but His glory is exclusively His if I am not mistaken.

    It is also my understanding that the Kingdom of God is a real kingdom that does not yet fully exist on this planet. It will only exist after the tribulation period spoken of in Revelation. So, although we can experience it in part on Earth, it’s not permanent yet and that brings me to my final point.

    It is easy to get caught up in an experience. I have been in situations that I could not explain where I felt filled with the presence of God and the Holy Spirit. But the feelings from these experiences always faded over time. You have had a constant dose of this revival for two weeks by your own admission. You will eventually come down from this experience and reality will creep in. When this is all over, and these initial feelings have died down, do not lose faith in God. Continue to seek Him and He will lead you to Himself. Trust Him and remember that Jesus called us to faith in God, but He never called us to a blind faith.

  8. Just to respond to Daniel’s last post
    Jesus said in John 11:40 “Did I not tell you that if you believed you would see the glory of God.” he said this just before raising Lazarus from the dead a tremendous sign of God’s power to people.

    Later in his high priestly prayer over the disciples and all believers he prayed-“I have given them the glory that you gave me that they may be one as we are one.” JOhn 17:22

    It is God’s glory and no one should ever try and claim it, but God does pour it out for us to experience as happened to the disciples in the upper room.

    The kingdom doesn’t come in its fullness until the return of Jesus but you can see from Mark 1 where John the Baptist says the kingdom of God is at hand, that it is here in part as you stated in your post, so we experience touches of it.

    I am aware that blind faith is a common phrase in our society, but is in actuality an oxymoron because for it to be faith you must understand tat which you put your faith in. It is good to question, but as you expressed concerns about Todd I was concerned by the poster JOSEF who has a site called “PURE GOSPEL TRUTH” on it he says he was told by God to not sit under any man and he is a new believer. The Bible teaches us strongly about accountability and that the new believer should not be elevated or pride results.

    So my point in mentioning this, is that we can endlessly point and accuse fellow believers. The true measure is whether they are proclaiming Christ and speaking the truth of the Gospel.

    It is true that Todd speaks of angel encounters, but I have yet to hear him say anything about worshipping the angels. We have to see what is being said about the angels. If we make anyone suspicious for referencing angels, then half of the apostles, Jesus and many prophets would be called into question.

  9. Re: Mark

    Thank you for finding the scripture verses and clarifying the Glory of God issue. I admit that I wrote that post from memory and did not take the time to search for the proper scriptures. Your explanation is more precise than mine.

    That said, I certainly was not trying to accuse ladynada (or anyone else) of anything. Scripture does state that we each work out our own unique pathway to God through Jesus. Her path will not be precisely mine. The language I used was intended to express concern for ladynada. Some would interpret that as being a busybody, but as a Christian I know that I am my brother’s keeper. It’s a conflicting perspective and often misunderstood.

    You also stated that the fact that angels are mentioned should not automatically discredit the speaker. While I agree, I think it’s still serious and raises a red flag. There are too many people talking about angels today without a correct biblical concept of angels. The fact that the bible doesn’t tell us a whole lot about angels suggests that they work in the background and should not be the center of attention. The fact that the bible does tell us a lot about hell, for example, also suggests that we should be talking about it a lot.

    But there are deeper concerns here. 1 Timothy 4:1 states: “The Spirit clearly says that in later times some will abandon the faith and follow deceiving spirits and things taught by demons.” That means that we should remain on guard. Our technology and communication methods are impressive but they will not protect us from deception. James 2:19 states: “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that – and shudder.” This means that we cannot trust a demon to always lie. They know what’s going on and will not make stupid, simple mistakes. They are out to deceive us and will exploit and use Christian imagery to further their ends. Take the story found in Acts 16:16-18 for example: “Once when we were going to the place of prayer, we were met by a slave girl who had a spirit by which she predicted the future. She earned a great deal of money for her owners by fortune-telling. This girl followed Paul and the rest of us, shouting, ‘These men are servants of the Most High God, who are telling you the way to be saved.’ She kept this up for many days. Finally Paul became so troubled that he turned around and said to the spirit, ‘In the name of Jesus Christ I command you to come out of her!’ At that moment the spirit left her.” This girl had a demon and the demon made her proclaim the truth about Paul and Silas in this passage. But what the girl said was not from God so Paul commanded the spirit to leave her.

    So, what can we trust? Who do we trust? That is the root problem with Todd Bentley and the Lakeland Revival. If it’s truly a work of God, how do we know? James 2:18 has the answer: “But someone will say, ‘You have faith; I have deeds.’ Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by what I do.” The proof is in the fruit. It takes time for real fruit on a tree to develop. It will take time for spiritual fruit to develop too. If this is a true move of God then nothing will stop it. If this is a massive deception then it cannot last; it will come to no good end. Since Todd Bentley and Bob Jones reference an angel that supposedly spoke to William Branham, and William Branham is almost unheard of today in Christian cirles because of his divergent beliefs, I do not think that the Lakeland Revival is from God. I think it is a mass deception, but the truth will come out in the end.

  10. To me, in my simplicity, this issue is a moot point. People are coming to salvation. People are being healed. How can Satan drive out Satan? How can a house divided stand? I care less about angels, visions and the rest. I care about souls and healing. If God choses to use a fat bald tattooed guy God bless him!

  11. Pingback: More Trackers « Wolf Tracks

  12. Daniel it is good to question and check the word tells us to test the spirits. You have said that you doubt it is a real move of God, but I still can’t grasp what your point of blasphemy or objection is. When you said that red flags should raise when someone speaks of angels that would include Peter, Paul Jesus and a large group of Old Testament prophets who all saw angels and spoke about it.
    There is certainly several passages indicating that angels act as messengers of God, warriors against evil and protectors of God’s people.
    For everything I have heard mentioned about angels from lakeland I have heard more mentioned about Jesus, and the only worship I have seen is directed to God, Father Son and Holy Spirit.
    I don’t quite follow what your point is with the timothy passage. People have gone to Florida and theiir faith in Christ is strengthened. If there is a deceiving spirit involved shouldn’t you be able to point to it and say this is exactly what I am talking about rather than be kind of vague?
    YOur reference of the girl from Acts working under a familiar spirit shows that she correctly identified Paul and Silas, but it doesn’t indicate that she worshipped Jesus. The demons in the Bible often identified Jesus and knew who he was, but I am not aware of a place where they gave worship to Jesus from their state. Since Jesus is not only mentioned but exalted in Lakeland, I have difficulty believing it is from demons, since their mandate is to take attention away from Jesus.
    Many who object make casual references to Todd Bentley and his ministry as being new age, but dont really define what is done that is new age over and against that which is Godly. Since the New Age tries to counterfeit the true moves of God simply saying having a vision or an ecstatic experience is new age doesn’t really give some good critical thought to it all. I am not saying you are doing this Daniel, but I am still struggling to find out what blasphemy can be laid down on this ministry. I do appreciate the conversation on this because I am still processing it myself, but from what I have seen and heard so far I have not seen a blasphemy. BUt am willing to be enlightened.

  13. “William Marrion Branham and Branham denied the trinity. He emphasized that God was One and not three. Is this enough to make the modern-day followers of William Branham a cult by most Christian standards? I don’t know.”

    Thats because you don’t have the guts to stand up for the sound doctrines of the Bible and you are deluded by the spirit of the age that nothing really matters about the Bible specifically relating to the nature of God as He revealed in the Holy Bible, so we can just make up whatever we want to believe as long as we feel it is a revelation from God just like Branham did and Todd Bentley does.

    If nothing in the sound doctrines of the Bible matters then Hindus, Mormons, Roman Catholics, Benny Hinn, Pagans, Athiests, Satanists, the Pope himself will be saved. If the sound doctrines of the Bible do point to the only way to salvation then they do matter. If you deny the very nature of God as clearly expressed in the Bible how can you possibly be saved by that God unless God doesn’t care and will save everyone like Hindus and all other pagans who make up other alternative theories about God.

    God the Lord is One yet Three Persons are the Lord. The Father AND The Son AND The Holy Spirit. “Let US make man in OUR image” God is not alone within Himself He is a We Being, deny His Triune nature and you preach a different God just like Hindus, Muslims, Mormons, etc.

    Gen 1:26, Jhn 1:1, Jhn 1:14, Rev 14:7, John 14: 23, John 8:16, John 14: 26, Jhn 10:18, Hebrews 1, Matthew 11:27, Joh 16:13, John 20:28, 2 John 1:9, 2 Corinthians 13:5, Col 2:2, John 8: 58, John 14:6, Jhn 5:22, Act 5:9, Jhn 17:5, Tts 1:9, Mat 12:31, John 1:18, 2Co 13:14, 2Co 11:4

    More on Branham quotes and him calling the Trinity doctrine a “doctrine of devils”

    http://www.deceptioninthechurch.com/fprophets.html#wbranham

  14. We often use methods to determine whether a revival is from God or not that themselves are manmade and flawed. Hank Hannegraph and others have self-defeating hermeneutics. For as long as I can remember, he, along with many others, keep saying that everything must rise and fall on the authority of the scriptures. Great! However, most of these revivalists would agree that the Bible is the word of God. The issue is with its interpretation. So my argument is with the interpretation people bring to the text. The reason why there exists so much disagreement around these movements and whether they are Biblical or not is because of what happens between our ears. This is why we must be open to experience because it tests our methods of interpreting the Scripture. Acts 15 is a perfect example of this. The apostles are wondering if the Gentile converts need to continue observing Jewish ceremonial law. The council decides that they should not because the Spirit came upon them as it did on the apostles. There argument is from experience not Scripture because the problem was their interpretation of it not their faith in it. Their interpretation needed to grow and change.

  15. LadyNada is lying to everyone. You can check it out for yourself.

    There is a page on Ustream.tv called the upper chat room, a channel/group created by a user.

    When you make a ustream broadcaster page, like the upper chat room, you automatically have a chat room added to your free page.

    She’s a moderator on that page, created by the “revival’ groupies.

    She is not a moderator for Ignited Church or Fresh Fire Ministries, and is not connected with the revival herself, just by internet.

    It just goes to show how far these people will go to keep the truth from stepping on their rice paper “revival.”

    Please, don’t believe me. Check it out for yourself, to see if these things are so.

    Ignited Church page with Ignited Church moderators : http://www.ustream.tv/channel/great-florida-healing-revival

    The Upper Chat Room, user created : http://www.ustream.tv/channel/the-upper-chat-room

  16. Re: Jake

    You know, when I first published this post I neither knew very much about the Lakeland Revival nor about how much traffic this particular post would generate. (It is by FAR the most read post on my blog.)

    That said, Jake and other readers need to know that my thoughts have now changed. I do not believe the Lakeland Revival is a move of God, but is a move of Satan. I did consider revising my original post last week to bring it more in line with my current understanding but chose not to. I’m still not certain if that was the right decision. Jake’s comment suggests it was not, but I wonder if Jake and others like him are reading the comments along with the post. In my last comment before this one, I clearly state my current beliefs. If my original post didn’t show enough “guts”, then my last comment should clear up any doubt. I think it’s the mark of a wise person that looks before they leap. Put another way, if this was a move of God I did not want to get in His way. Fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.

    So, Jake, you need to read the comments with the post. I’ll add an update to the post to prevent this from happening in the future. Also, a word of advice: people listen better when they’re not being insulted. You added heat (anger, contempt, frustration) to this discussion and that’s not the mind of God that we are called to have.

    Specifically, I do think I stand up for God and the Bible. I just don’t let myself get angry about it. Nothing I said in my original post even hints at suggesting that I am “deluded by the spirit of the age that nothing really matters about the Bible”. And, Jake, you go on from there. Since you mention me at the beginning of your comment, it comes across as if you are talking directly to me – even attacking me – instead of adding to the discussion here. Don’t make that mistake. Please be clear in who you are addressing when you comment. 2 Timothy 2:24-25 says “And the Lord’s servant must not quarrel; instead, he must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful. Those who oppose him he must gently instruct, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth…”

    Great link, BTW. I spent several minutes looking through that list of false prophets. While I think we’re all fallible and will at some point make a mistake somewhere, most of the people listed there were involved in things that clearly are beyond a simple mistake. Thanks for contributing.

  17. Wow Joseph, what do you think it is about what you call deception that causes so many passionate christens to pour their hearts out to God in Worship. Have you even been there? Are you thinking that the devil enjoys all the intense Praise and Adoration to Jesus? Did you know that Jesus will offend YOUR mind to reveal YOUR heart? Just wondering….

  18. Re: Grace

    No, He won’t. He can’t. If the God of the bible is the one, true God and what is said about him in the scriptures is true, then He created the universe as we know it, is perfect, and cannot contradict himself. Included in the creation of the universe is the human mind. Therefore, God most certainly will NOT offend our mind to reveal our heart. That is a deception of Satan and do not believe it.

    There are quite a few scriptures dealing with how the mind is used to promote our understanding of God and how it can be deceived. I recommend the excellent Battlefield of the Mind by Joyce Meyer. It is one of the most compelling books I have ever read. I did not know that there were so many references to the mind in the bible until I read this book. Christians are called to seek God through the renewing of their minds against the attacks of Satan. And in every situation, the Christian faith should be rational and consistent.

  19. I decided to watch last night on GodTV, committed to guard my heart as I try to discern whether it is a genuine revival. My spiritual litmus test was this – there must be an emphasis on repentance for there to be genuine revival. I saw none of that. I saw emotionalism to the extreme, and manipulation like I haven’t seen in a while. I’ve been praying for revival to hit this country for a long time now, and this isn’t it. Where are the people bowing before a holy God, begging for forgiveness of sin and repenting from dead works? Where is the Jesus Christ of the cross? Where are the messages to crucify the flesh? This is deception at its greatest, and it pains me that GodTV is supportive of it. I pray for those who are experiencing healings. I do not deny that it is happening. I do not deny that people are being saved. But the danger is that ravenous wolves have invaded the household of the Father, seeking to devour the faith of the sheep. Be on guard! But also… Be ready… For I still believe a genuine revival is going to hit this country. It must! Our survival as a generation who calls themselves the Bride of Christ depends on it, and the future of this nation depends on it. So I guess what I’m saying is this… While deception may come, and we will be heartbroken over false revivals, we must take heart because Jesus is still on the throne. He is still the King of the Universe. And He still knows what He is doing.

  20. This debate over whether this revival is real or not, just goes to prove that most Christians can’t hear from the Holy Spirit themselves and just believe or don’t believe based on the people that are for it or against it. I would think that the Holy Spirit would know if this was a move of God or not. If Todd Bentley didn’t look like he does, I wonder if there would be any debate. God looks on the heart.

  21. Dave Abreu

    I think this is great that people are questioning this move. It shows maturity that i have’nt seen in a long time. Yes, where is the repentance, sackcloth, and other deep things of God? Revival takes a great price. Is this the easy show that everybody has waited for? If easy is the way, then this is the show, but true revival will include strongs calls for brokenness, and the condemnation of sin. Where is that? Its all too easy. Where is the warnings of hell? This is the wide road that sends to hell for sure. Why would we need THIS “Anointing” if Jesus already GAVE us an Anointing? We have the Word and the Holy Spirit already. True revival is birthed from Holiness, not a fasination with angels. I vote no for this one…

  22. Large crowds, nightly meetings could never constitute “Revival” – What is revival? Revival is an awakening of God’s people to live, breath, and be the body of Christ that is depicted in the Bible. Secondly, revival is the coming to life of lost souls. “The wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus.”

    Miracles, signs and wonders, as describe in scripture are not “revival” – they are the natural outflow of the the truth of God being preached. The Apostles preached the word and signs and wonders followed. But the key element is that truth preceeds it, and it is the natural outflow of truth…when it (signs and wonders) is elevated above the “Word” it’s hype.

    About the Kingdom of God talked about – When the Pharisees confronted Jesus to mock Him, they asked, where is your Kingdom? He replied, the Kingdom of God is here and now, it lives in you…we often confuse the Kingdom of God, and the Kingdom of Heaven.

    If this “revival” got you into the Kingdom of God, where have you been? If you live for, love and serve God, the Kingdom lives in you. We (the body of Christ) are to be building God’s Kingdom.

    Just some quick thoughts…personal perspectives.

  23. I just heard of “The Lakeland Revival” Friday, May 17th when I was informed famlies of close friends are flying there. One family seeking miracle for down syndrome child, the other family seeking miracle of autism, have since heard several other members of our church going to Lakeland. I decided to “research” this as best of my abiliy. They had heard of a child raised from the dead on Mother’s Day. My husband stated, if a child was raised from the dead, wouldn’t it be on the news? (He was being VERY sceptical) I actually went to site Florida Outpouring which had Pastor Strader’s Report…. 8th person raised from the dead!!! A child revived after 10 min. drowning pool incident. woman who had attended the revival prayed, child alive RESSURECTION MIRICLE, prayer in emergency situations, and answered prayer I have had without Lakeland Revival, this would not convince my husband… next miracle.. #7 raised from the dead, as stated again, Pastor Straders notes from floridaoutpouring.com, Judy called “me” on the phone.. she & paramedic friend at gym.. Judy has been watchin meeting, a lady dies in the gym, the paramedic tries to revive her.. Judy starts praying, call friend at church to pray..the lady comes back to life. according to again, floridaoutpouring.com., This is #7 raised from the dead, last night I was sooo sad for my friends who are there now, looking for miracles of reports of ressurection from the dead. On the Maay 15 Pastor Strader’s notes “Daniel” asked for documentation of all these mighty miracles. host response, have requested, haven’t heard. I believe the church is the body of Christ. I believe in spiritual gifts. I believe the ministry work of Jesus Christ operates through His Body. I am truly praying for these children, I am very sceptical now. Very dissapointed I couldn’t find a testimony to convince myself, let alone my husband who is not open to any type of prophecy. I will post another comment when i hear from the families anticipating their miracles. I also believe we should test the spirits. I don’t think documentation would be hard. #6 raised from the dead, the miracle that convinced those i personnaly know, talks of a 3 yr old girl died Monday night.. a school teacher has been coming to the meetings.. she asked her class to pray for the family.. Tues the family is making funeral arrangements.. they postponed donating the organs.. Wed morn., wheeling her down to surgery.. before they could harvest the organs, the little girl coughs and comes alive!!! FUNERAL SERVICE CANCELLED!!! almost word for word Pastor Strader’s notes. I asked questions of my best friend whose husband is with the group that went to Fla , told her what i found out, nothing, the baby wasnt dead dead or how can you keep organs like that.. she guessed life support., funeral canceled, ok, but healed, home, recovering, I really fear the Lord and fear my own doubt. If this isn’t God, I know the hope these hurting people go seeking. And I know the pain they bear caring for babies seeking miracles

  24. Perhaps the problem I and so much of the world have with “church” and “religion” is that which you are looking for. Burning flames of hell, absolute sinlessness to the point of not needing a redempter named Jesus, differently construed definitions of a revival, and even telling God, Jesus,Holy Spirit how they must reveal themselves.

    I am not going to defend this man or this revival in Lakeland, because any place that “people come from every nation to worship the Lord under one roof” does not need defense. That would be like saying that singing from the bottom of my heart to Jesus is pointless because I’m singing along with Christian music artists who make money from their music. Cry out to Jesus anywhere… all day every day!

    So I say, and so many are now saying and believing, that “RELIGION” is dying and dead. You argue the things of a dying religion and for a broken law that was unable to do what Jesus is able to do. The word says there is therefore no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, we have been set free (from what?… the law and sin?), and every knee will bow and tongue confess that He is Lord. We are unable to keep all the law (there are more than ten commandments) except that which Jesus so compelled us to. Love the Lord your God with all your heart soul mind and strength and love you neighbor as yourself. You keep those two, let Jesus handle the rest of the law.

    Noone, not even a demon or misled spirit, can stand on a stage and confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, dead and risen for our sins. Wasn’t that the test we are to perform? Not our own rationalities or understandings of how God works. What if the whole thing was a hoax? What if everyone on that stage were tomorrow to be arrested for murder? Would it nullify what Holy Spirit did in bringing people to Christ there in that place?

    Goodbye Religious spirit. Your kingdom is falling. You have kept people away from Christ for too long, holding them bondage to their sin for too long. Christ wants his kingdom, yours will be the first to fall…

  25. Thought you might like to send some readers my way…
    Todd Bentley has become ashamed of his “angel” Emma!

    http://blog.thewaycf.com/2008/05/todd-bentley-do-we-have-anything-to.html

    Slice of Laodicea has linked a note about it to me…

    http://www.sliceoflaodicea.com/?p=787

    If you would do the same we can put some more doubt in more peoples minds about this false prophet/teacher.

    In Christ,

    Jon Sharp

  26. Re: Jon

    I think you have something to add to this discussion so I’m posting your comment. However, let me be clear about one thing: This article, and the comments attached to it, are about seeking truth – not spreading doubt. I think Satan spreads around more than enough doubt for all of us.

    Thanks for sharing.

  27. Pingback: has todd bentley preached at the lakeland revival

  28. With regard to the comments made by various bloggers that people in this revival are “getting saved & healed”… you need to remember that “getting saved” is just the beginning… God can save anyone anywhere, but what happens next is that these people now have to “work out their own salvation” on a daily basis as the scripture says… and for some that will lead them out of false teaching and for others it will just about be an impossibility for them unless they are taught the foundational truths of repentance and turning from dead works etc – If these people who are being “saved” are only being saved because they are caught up in sensationalism and signs and wonders then their foundation is going to be very shaky at best. People should be wary of claims that “people are being saved” when there is no foundation being laid in their lives. Hopefully some of those “saved” will begin to search the scriptures, and have good imput into their lives from others that will help to establish the firm foundation that true repentance brings. I doubt they will get any of that from the leaders of this ‘revival’. Those who are siting ‘healings’ as being proof of God’s involvement need to be very wary as well. Many cults and new age movements also claim ‘healings’ I’m not saying that God doesn’t heal – in fact I know that He does…. I’m just saying that that alone is not ‘proof’. In fact it has been made know n that some claims made have been false. We need to be so careful , particularly in these days, that we don’t allow our eyes to be taken off the Lord Jesus Christ, the sacrifice that He made, and the Word that He has given us to live by. Angels, supernatural mainfestations, or other strange paranormal experiences are not proof that something is of God. True repentance and changed lives however glorify God and are a witness to who He really is.

Leave a Reply

