Rubik’s Cube

When I was younger, I always thought it would be very cool to know how to solve a Rubik’s cube. Well, today I have achieved that goal!

When I was very young I remember having a Rubik’s cube and visiting my dad at work. He taught at the same high school that I teach at now. There was a student there that could solve a rubik’s cube and would solve it for me. So, I sent my cube and it came back solved. It was just the coolest thing to me at the time!

So, fast forward a decade or so when I was on vacation in Myrtle Beach. There’s this little shop on the strip just a little north of main street (where the Pavilion used to stand) and they had this little book called Solving the Cube for $1. Yes, it only cost one dollar! I’ve had that book for years and have used it to solve that same Rubik’s cube for years.

Well, some students took my cube over the summer a year ago. So, I got a new one over this past summer and my students this semester have been playing with it. I’ve been using that little book to solve the cube and slowly but surely I’ve memorized the moves to solve any mixed up Rubic’s Cube.

I guess this post may sound a little strange to some people, but to me it’s kind of cool knowing that I can do this. It’s one of those little goals in life that you don’t ever really expect to accomplish and you don’t put a lot of effort into. But the fact that this particular goal was accomplished still means something to you. And that’s very cool.

Leave a Reply

